

To all members of the 12 Plus Group

The Hague, 16 April 2021

Dear colleagues of the 12 Plus Group,

With this letter, I would like to inform you further about filling of the IPU-vacancies of which the deadline was today, 16 April 2021, 16.00 CEST.

I would like to thank all members who submitted their candidature for the various vacancies, 32 applications in total. As there are more candidatures than vacancies, we are organising an election meeting on **Monday 26 April 2021, 13.00 – 15.00**. This will be a secret ballot within the KUDO platform. See separate invitation. Please note that all candidates with their CVs and letters are published on the website: 12plus.net under 'Activities' (password: 12pLUs).

On **Friday 23 April, 13.00 – 14.00** I would like to organise an informal meeting (no translation) with all candidates or at least one member of the country nominating candidates, in preparation for the election on 26 April. A link to the meeting will be sent to the candidates concerned and their staff in the following days. Please notify the Secretariat if no one from your delegation can participate.

I would like to propose that you accept two candidacies without a vote. The first is the candidacy of Ms. Louisa Wall from New Zeeland for the Bureau of Women Parliamentarians, for a term of one year, completing the office of their former Deputy Speaker Ms. Anne Tolley. The other candidacy is the one of Ms. Johanna Gapany from Switzerland for the High-Level Advisory Group on Countering Terrorism and Violent Extremism. As we have received only one application for this group, a vote might not necessary. If no objections have been submitted to the Secretariat by **20 April 2021**, it will be assumed that these two nominations are accepted.

Regarding the members who could represent the 12 Plus Group in two Drafting Committee, I am pleased to inform you that the following members are willing and able to participate:

First Committee: Ms Cecilia Widegren, Sweden and Mr Robert del Picchia, France Second Committee: Ms Marilou McPhedran, Canada and Mr Laurent Wehrli, Switzerland

Finally, we have been informed that four members have submitted their candidacy to the Committee on the Human Rights of Parliamentarians. Members of this Committee are elected in their individual capacity and are not be nominated by the 12 Plus Group. It is good to see that members of the 12 Plus Group are willing to participate in this important committee.

Kind regards,

Arda Gerkens Chair of the Twelve Plus Group