The Group of the 12+

The 179 parliaments that are “full” members of the IPU (there are currently 13 associate members) are organised in 6 geopolitical groups: the African group (52 members), the Arab group (21 members), the Asia-Pacific group (36 members), the Eurasia group (9 members), the group of Latin America and the Caribbean (24 members) and the Twelve-plus group (the largest one, with 47 members).

Geopolitical groups play an important role in the functioning of the Inter-Parliamentary Union. For example, positions within the IPU (presidents, vice-presidents, rapporteurs of the standing committees or of the various committees and working groups) are filled on the basis of the representativity of the geopolitical groups, which choose their candidates for these positions.